3 Science-Backed Hacks to Stay on Track with Your Goals

You might have an identity crisis.

Kristi Tarrant
8 min readJan 9, 2024
Photo submitted by author. Author is featured.

“Anything is possible when you believe.” This mantra is something I’ve reinforced with both of my kids since they were seven and nine years old.

I bust this statement out whether we’re playing Yahtzee or one of them is trying out for a school sports team. I’m trying to instill a belief system around their ability and capabilities.

This habit hack is reinforced by science, but it’s more fun for the kids to think there’s a bit of magic involved. And, sometimes, getting what you want can feel a bit magical — especially if you’re accustomed to self-limiting beliefs.

Whether you decide to use science or magic, if you are adamant about achieving your goals in 2024, I will summarize the hacks that have worked for me repeatedly.

Most recently, I used this process after going through a divorce and feeling stuck. I decided to sign up for a Triathlon despite being petrified of riding a bike. These hacks helped me transform from being a brand-new Triathlete to being ranked nationally in the Top 15% of women in my age group in less than two years.

Read on to find out how I:

  • Create new habits to achieve goals by shifting my belief system.

--

--

Kristi Tarrant

Second-time Wifey. Fortune 100 Leader. Blended Fam Mama. Storyteller. Triathlete. Yoga Teacher. I write about: Life | Health | Mindfulness | Self | Leadership